Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
Bugs, Features and Wishlist
 Harmony : Bugs, Features and Wishlist
Subject Topic: Raspberry PI as the server Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
tony_park
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 30 August 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 99
Posted: 05 June 2013 at 12:13pm | IP Logged Quote tony_park

Hi Rob,

wonder if you've had any thoughts about using a raspberry pi as the home automation server, with the gui being run on a different pc as and when required for changes, but the config being uploaded to the pi and stored locally.  This would then allow this low power device to run headless and control our bits and pieces.

Thanks
Tony
Back to Top View tony_park's Profile Search for other posts by tony_park
 
Rob Iles
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 10 August 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5377
Posted: 05 June 2013 at 2:09pm | IP Logged Quote Rob Iles

You, Sir, must be psychic!!

I had the exact same thought yesterday, and ordered two PI's to the try to build it!!

I shall keep you posted,

Rob
Back to Top View Rob Iles's Profile Search for other posts by Rob Iles Visit Rob Iles's Homepage
 
tony_park
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 30 August 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 99
Posted: 05 June 2013 at 3:28pm | IP Logged Quote tony_park

Excellent timing :-)

and there was me thinking my crystal ball was worn out, from my customers expecting me to understand their requirements :-)
Back to Top View tony_park's Profile Search for other posts by tony_park
 
tony_park
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 30 August 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 99
Posted: 16 June 2013 at 10:40am | IP Logged Quote tony_park

Hi Rob,

how do you envisage it working, remote admin and setup from a pc, with the server and config installed on the PI?

Thanks
Tony
Back to Top View tony_park's Profile Search for other posts by tony_park
 
Rob Iles
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 10 August 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5377
Posted: 16 June 2013 at 11:37am | IP Logged Quote Rob Iles

Again, excellent timing !

Initial plan is to get Core ported to Pi.

However, that seems like a waste of a
perfectly good HDMI connector.

Present thinking is Core 1st (which
essentially gives us a Linux version of
Harmony!), then a XBMC Plugin so the Pi
can serve as a media centre and Harmony
Automation controller, complete with GUI.

This is thinking out loud, not a promise

. What do you (and others) think?

R.
Back to Top View Rob Iles's Profile Search for other posts by Rob Iles Visit Rob Iles's Homepage
 
tony_park
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 30 August 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 99
Posted: 16 June 2013 at 12:58pm | IP Logged Quote tony_park

Hi Rob,

personally, we have 2 PIs, both have the standard os installed, but with shairport installed for itunes playback.  This is the long term plan...  So something running headless would be ideal.  Currently I'm playing with my harmony setup, so having remote access to setup actions etc would be ideal ;-)

Initially, while setting up the devices etc, we could have it connected to a tv, but would prefer not to need to have xbmc installed, if possible.  I've dabbled with this in line with some other changes that we're thinking of for media playback, and xbmc kept falling over after I tried to get it to use our wireless network adaptor working, the PI failed to boot correctly :-(  I've not had much chance to 'play' with this over the last week, (as the wife would say).

Thanks
Tony


Edited by tony_park on 16 June 2013 at 1:00pm
Back to Top View tony_park's Profile Search for other posts by tony_park
 
RossN
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 February 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 137
Posted: 20 June 2013 at 8:54pm | IP Logged Quote RossN

Hi Rob,

A PI/Linux version of Harmony sounds like a brilliant
idea :)

I would agree with Tony though that it might be better if
XBMC was optional as when I've played about with it I
found it a bit slow, so would prefer to just run core on
the PI and deal with the rest of it elsewhere.

I'm guessing that if you are going to be working on this
though that the IR side of things is taking a back seat
just now :( If that's the case can you suggest any
software I can use to make use of the IR units I got as
part of that which are currently sitting in a box?

Thanks

Ross
Back to Top View RossN's Profile Search for other posts by RossN
 
Rob Iles
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 10 August 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5377
Posted: 21 June 2013 at 1:24am | IP Logged Quote Rob Iles

Hi all,
1st, thank you for continuing to show an
interest in Harmony! It would be an
understatement to say I've not been very
visible/active for several months;
personal issues that I'm now beginning to
cope with (hence the forum activity), I'm
back "in the seat" .

Porting Harmony to Pi & Linux will be a
lengthy process, especially ensuring
backward compatibility with all existing
components! (The obvious question is: "Do
we develop Harmony 9 as a cross platform
product and charge an upgrade fee to
existing users who want to access new
platforms"? Or, fork the code base and
maintain 2007 & V9 independently? The
former seems best from a development &
maintenance stand point, but I don't want
to alienate people who have purchased
2007! What do you guys think?)

Re:IR, thank you again for your patience -
I know I've disappointed a lot of keen
supporters :-( I tentatively propose that
I should recommence/continue IR
Development for H2007, whilst keeping in
mind architecture of Harmony9, as I owe it
to the beta testers to see it through.

What are your thoughts?

Rob
Back to Top View Rob Iles's Profile Search for other posts by Rob Iles Visit Rob Iles's Homepage
 
tony_park
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 30 August 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 99
Posted: 21 June 2013 at 12:23pm | IP Logged Quote tony_park

Hi Rob,

a modest upgrade fee is ok with me... I know what its like trying to support multiple codelines, so I would be happy to move up to Harmony9.

HTH
Tony
Back to Top View tony_park's Profile Search for other posts by tony_park
 
RossN
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 February 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 137
Posted: 22 June 2013 at 12:44am | IP Logged Quote RossN

Hi Rob,

Good to see you back

I would agree with Tony that a cross-platform Harmony 9 would be better than running two code-bases and a modest upgrade fee would be ok.

Can I make a suggestion? If you are porting the code to Linux, would you consider building in command line support for certain functions, such as turning things on and off etc? Would make it a lot easier to use on low power / headless machines such as the pi etc.

As regards the IR - I completely agree with your tentative suggestion

Ross
Back to Top View RossN's Profile Search for other posts by RossN
 
SteveM
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 02 August 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 184
Posted: 23 June 2013 at 2:13pm | IP Logged Quote SteveM

Hi all,

Agree also cross-platform would be better, also a further thought, rather than just have the application running on one device, one of the benefits I can see with PI is the ability to distribute functions i.e. separate PI devices throughout the house controlling a selection of functions, using IP as the communications mechanism. That way we are not limited by the unreliability of x10 and the limited wireless range of Wi-Fi.

Steve

 

Back to Top View SteveM's Profile Search for other posts by SteveM
 
Rob Iles
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 10 August 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5377
Posted: 24 June 2013 at 12:29am | IP Logged Quote Rob Iles

Ross - sure, no good reason (at this point) not to add a
basic CLI.

Steve - I like the idea; great suggestion! Will need to
raise funds in order to purchase a suitable number of PI's,
but it's definitely going on the dev plan! Let's start with
getting a version of Harmony 9 Cross Platform Core, and
then build it out....... Probably a good time for you and I
to schedule a Skype call ;-)

When it's appropriate I'll setup a new forum section for
this, but in the mean time, please keep posting questions &
the suggestions here.

Thanks all,

R.
Back to Top View Rob Iles's Profile Search for other posts by Rob Iles Visit Rob Iles's Homepage
 
Rob Iles
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 10 August 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5377
Posted: 24 June 2013 at 12:37am | IP Logged Quote Rob Iles

P.S. Regarding "limited by wifi / X10". I assume you're
referring to RF, not wifi, is that correct?

Keep in mind that Harmony supports additional platforms
such as C-Bus & Dupline, hardwired systems that are not
susceptible to mains Bourne / RF interference :-)

R.
Back to Top View Rob Iles's Profile Search for other posts by Rob Iles Visit Rob Iles's Homepage
 
SteveM
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 02 August 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 184
Posted: 26 June 2013 at 10:38am | IP Logged Quote SteveM

Rob,

Little embarrassed to mention, but some of us have largish houses with some thick walls and also big gardens, so the comment is relative to both, hence suggestion a while back about secondary BBS controllers.

With respect to other platforms, I personally believe the way automation and more relevantly integration between technology in the home will move is more towards TCP/IP and its various transport mechanisms, people already have it and large additional investment, be that specific cabling or hardware, is not required. Bluetooth I believe also comes into this arena.

With respect to discussion, you have my email, let me know when you have free time and we can get together and discuss.

Steve

Back to Top View SteveM's Profile Search for other posts by SteveM
 
tony_park
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 30 August 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 99
Posted: 23 August 2013 at 10:31am | IP Logged Quote tony_park

Hi Rob,

I know I'm probably in the minority here, but if possible, could you provide a version that will run on a windows home server - or the equivalent at the time of release - the chances are my media pc, will be set to go back to sleep between recordings, unless we move back the Sky STB, in which case, it won't be doing recordings, and so this pc will no longer be used to provide the necessary 24x7 uptime that is required to run the server.

Thanks
Tony
Back to Top View tony_park's Profile Search for other posts by tony_park
 
bikerlad26
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 20 April 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 786
Posted: 28 March 2016 at 10:03am | IP Logged Quote bikerlad26

Hi Rob

Not posted in here for ages just wondering if this is something that ever
got working wanting to get a cheep Pc ie a pi and get harmony running
on that

Cheers

Chris
Back to Top View bikerlad26's Profile Search for other posts by bikerlad26
 
djcolling
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 20 December 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 250
Posted: 04 April 2016 at 7:28pm | IP Logged Quote djcolling

Me too.


Having failed to find the log file on windows 7 64 bit, I now have a raspberry pi monitoring my house x10 activities.
I also have an Access2003 database to read in the data and replay it as required.
It is not yet real time but does allow me to see what my heating was doing when I was away.
Back to Top View djcolling's Profile Search for other posts by djcolling
 
Rob Iles
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 10 August 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5377
Posted: 05 April 2016 at 1:00am | IP Logged Quote Rob Iles

Hi Chris,

Nice to see you back here :-)

Alas - it never really gained traction; there was a
little bit of interest, but insufficient
investment/funding to actually go ahead and invest the
necessary time & money into porting it... It's a time
consuming project and I don't have cash reserves to
draw upon.

DJ, which log file are you looking for? I might be
able to help you find it, if it would still be of use
to you.

*ALL* -- to reinvigorate Harmony is going to take some
investment - Time &/ Money (both are the same,
fundamentally, right?).... How would people respond to
a "crowd sourced" or similar project to get Harmony
all singing and dancing again?

I'm open to suggestions - post them here, or
email me

If anyone is interested in taking control of Harmony,
I would also consider this - but that's definitely
something to discuss in private.

Thanks for posting both -- it has been quite a journey
over the last 12 years!!

R. (not giving up, just exploring options)
Back to Top View Rob Iles's Profile Search for other posts by Rob Iles Visit Rob Iles's Homepage
 
djcolling
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 20 December 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 250
Posted: 07 April 2016 at 7:52am | IP Logged Quote djcolling

On windows XP it was
C:\Program Files\Domia\Harmony 2007\CM11\Harmony_CM11_Errorlog.txt
but does not seem to appear in Windows 7 64 bit.
I tried recreating the Windows XP file structure but still the file did not appear.

Thanks for your interest

Dave
Back to Top View djcolling's Profile Search for other posts by djcolling
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum