Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
Icon Gallery
 Harmony : Icon Gallery
Subject Topic: Xmas Tree Lights from Homer Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Rob Iles
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 10 August 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5377
Posted: 19 December 2008 at 1:51pm | IP Logged Quote Rob Iles

Here
Back to Top View Rob Iles's Profile Search for other posts by Rob Iles Visit Rob Iles's Homepage
 

Guest
Guest


Joined: 01 October 2003
Online Status: Online
Posts: 25
Posted: 19 December 2008 at 8:47pm | IP Logged Quote 

So,

Is anybody using these icons ?

Let me know; it makes me feel worth while
Back to Top View 's Profile Search for other posts by 
 
bikerlad26
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 20 April 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 786
Posted: 19 December 2008 at 10:46pm | IP Logged Quote bikerlad26

Hi Homer

Yes I am using them im using the colored flashing one works a treat

Thanks

Chris
Back to Top View bikerlad26's Profile Search for other posts by bikerlad26
 
Rob Iles
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 10 August 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5377
Posted: 21 December 2008 at 12:43am | IP Logged Quote Rob Iles

Chin up Homer - I'm using them too - and weblogs indicate 17 other downloads so far, which isn't bad at all all thing considered! :)

You are "da man" as I believe is the vernacular ;)

Rob
Back to Top View Rob Iles's Profile Search for other posts by Rob Iles Visit Rob Iles's Homepage
 
bikerlad26
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 20 April 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 786
Posted: 06 December 2009 at 3:57pm | IP Logged Quote bikerlad26

Well its that time of year again and yes again i am using your Christmas tree lights Homer Many thanks again

Chris
Back to Top View bikerlad26's Profile Search for other posts by bikerlad26
 

Guest
Guest


Joined: 01 October 2003
Online Status: Online
Posts: 25
Posted: 06 December 2009 at 9:16pm | IP Logged Quote 

My life has been worthwhile
Back to Top View 's Profile Search for other posts by 
 

Guest
Guest


Joined: 01 October 2003
Online Status: Online
Posts: 25
Posted: 22 December 2009 at 12:41am | IP Logged Quote 

I hope your Xmas lights are all turning on and off at Harmony regulated times I'm trying the 'Sunset' option to start my ON event for the first time with mine.
Back to Top View 's Profile Search for other posts by 
 
bikerlad26
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 20 April 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 786
Posted: 22 December 2009 at 8:03am | IP Logged Quote bikerlad26

I have mine on a set time and off at a set time

how did you find the sunset option or have you only changed it last evening to work this eve

Chris
Back to Top View bikerlad26's Profile Search for other posts by bikerlad26
 

Guest
Guest


Joined: 01 October 2003
Online Status: Online
Posts: 25
Posted: 22 December 2009 at 8:21am | IP Logged Quote 

Hi Chris, today is the first time to try it. I'm looking forward to learning the resulting ON time
Back to Top View 's Profile Search for other posts by 
 
bikerlad26
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 20 April 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 786
Posted: 22 December 2009 at 8:31am | IP Logged Quote bikerlad26

Nice one i tried it a few time on different events it seamed to work just remember find you true lat and long from say google and then it should be sunset where you are roughly


hope all goes well let us know this eve

Chris

Back to Top View bikerlad26's Profile Search for other posts by bikerlad26
 
turbotimbo
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 26 April 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 76
Posted: 22 December 2009 at 8:45am | IP Logged Quote turbotimbo

I use the sunset event all the time and find it very useful. My Christmas lights have been coming on at sunset for the last couple of weeks and I have other lights turned on at sunset throughout the year.

As Chris says, enter your true latitude and longitude to get an accurate switch on time.

Back to Top View turbotimbo's Profile Search for other posts by turbotimbo
 

Guest
Guest


Joined: 01 October 2003
Online Status: Online
Posts: 25
Posted: 22 December 2009 at 9:00am | IP Logged Quote 

Thanks guys, it really is the first time I have tried "Sunset", and I hadn't done that
Back to Top View 's Profile Search for other posts by 
 
bikerlad26
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 20 April 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 786
Posted: 22 December 2009 at 4:18pm | IP Logged Quote bikerlad26

Well im guessing the Sun has now set in your part of the world Homer how did you get on

Chris
Back to Top View bikerlad26's Profile Search for other posts by bikerlad26
 

Guest
Guest


Joined: 01 October 2003
Online Status: Online
Posts: 25
Posted: 22 December 2009 at 4:38pm | IP Logged Quote 

Sorted ! They came on around 15:59 which is as close as it gets

Back to Top View 's Profile Search for other posts by 
 
bikerlad26
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 20 April 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 786
Posted: 22 December 2009 at 4:50pm | IP Logged Quote bikerlad26

cant grumble at that then glad it worked

Chris
Back to Top View bikerlad26's Profile Search for other posts by bikerlad26
 
Rob Iles
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 10 August 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5377
Posted: 26 December 2009 at 4:47am | IP Logged Quote Rob Iles

Greetings All,

Are "we" saying that the sunrise trigger works properly, but the long+lat filled in by the GUI are incorrect? If so, should be able to patch that with a bugfix, rather than wait for full release :-) Would also be a good test of the auto-update, which I've been working on of late.

Previously, there were a number of report of sunrise and sunset events "not working"....perhaprs the co-ordinates were off, so not working *as expected* may be more accurate.


Interest to get feed back on this one, as it give me chance to offer a GUI update :)

Thanks,

Rob
Back to Top View Rob Iles's Profile Search for other posts by Rob Iles Visit Rob Iles's Homepage
 
bikerlad26
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 20 April 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 786
Posted: 26 December 2009 at 9:44am | IP Logged Quote bikerlad26

Hi Rob

I find that if you manually enter your long and lat it gives you a more accurate time closer to sunset/rise.

For example if some lives in Scotland then their long and lat is going to be a lot different than those living around the london area. For example my true long and lat found here is long 0.643 and lat 52.314 and the default for london is 0.100 lat 51.300.

So maybe could you include something to cover the major citys in the uk or take the pre defined out completely.

Chris

p.s could not create hyperlink for address sorry tried the globe icon put address in pressed ok but nothing

Link edited by Ming the Merciless Moderator.


Edited by Homer on 26 December 2009 at 10:11am
Back to Top View bikerlad26's Profile Search for other posts by bikerlad26
 

Guest
Guest


Joined: 01 October 2003
Online Status: Online
Posts: 25
Posted: 26 December 2009 at 10:07am | IP Logged Quote 

Hi Rob,

From my perspective, the "Sunset" trigger is presently working with my personal lat/long fed in. I need to test this a bit longer to see if it can switch correctly at different times of the year - Maybe turbotimbo can comment on that.

I've had a look at an online UK sunset calculator, and searched for the places with the maximum time differences across the UK. I found Aberdeen and Penzance to be the furthest apart (One hour difference), with London in the middle. This could explain the early complaints about inaccurate timings, since the GUI only has London for the UK ! I guess that is why I was advised to use my own lat/long. FYI: Sunset times are presently Aberdeen = 15:25,London = 15:55, Penzance = 16:23.

For the sake of testing the auto update, you could add Aberdeen and Penzance. That should be close enough for most of us
Back to Top View 's Profile Search for other posts by 
 
turbotimbo
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 26 April 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 76
Posted: 26 December 2009 at 11:16am | IP Logged Quote turbotimbo

Hi all,

As I mentioned earlier on in this thread, the sunset event works just fine for me. I don't know about sunrise, because I haven't used that trigger so far.

To get it working properly you should enter your home coordinates, set GMT offset and check or uncheck the daylight savings option as required. Unless you are living in one one of the cities in the drop down list, that list isn't very useful. I don't consider "Select nearest city" to be accurate enough. There are lots of places to get your coordinates, so it is easy enought to do without the drop down list.  That's my opinion anyway.

hope that helps

Back to Top View turbotimbo's Profile Search for other posts by turbotimbo
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum